In the beginning

In the early hours of the morning I found myself yet again staring furtively at the screen, my eyes weary from hours spent searching the endless lines of code for an answer that I was starting to believe wasn’t going to come. As I rise to fetch a new mug of coffee to fuel my endeavors for hopefully another hour or so, I ask myself “Why?”

Flashback to a few months earlier, I am at home, slumped on the couch half watching a TV show just to pass the time.  I’ve returned from another day at work, going through the motions, doing the same thing I did the day before, and the same thing I’ll do tomorrow.  A sobering thought flashed across my mind, the same thought I’d had for as long as I can remember “Is THIS all I can do?  Is this all I’m meant to be?”

Then something changed, an idea, a spark of life, an online business.

My friends and I decided to create our own business, but how to get it online?  I’ve always been technically minded, always wanted to know how things work, why they work, with a keen eye for detail, systems and patterns.  As soon as the website was mentioned, something deep inside me said “I can build it”.  Up to this point I’d never had any training or experience with web design or any other kind of programming, but still this voice “I can build it”.

Despite my lack of experience, my friends put their faith in me to bring our website and our business to the world.  I started reading, I watched seminars, I downloaded videos, I attended online conferences, I signed up to every web design blog/article/magazine I could find.  Slowly but surely it started coming together.  The more I learnt, the more it fuelled me to discover more, the more it challenged me the harder I pushed myself.  I was driven, I was alive!  But there was only so much I could learn on my own.  On a leap of faith and without a second thought I enrolled in an Internet Communications & Web Design degree and I’ve never looked back.

The internet has changed the world and continues shape the way we live.  Web design is the perfect mix of creative and logical thinking, driven by beauty and inspiration, built from systematic technicality, built for me.

About sarab2222

Driven by curiosity, creativity and my innate nerdiness, a little over a year ago I dipped my toe into the world of everything web design. With no experience, no formal training and no idea what I was doing I sweated, swore and furrowed over the creation of my first website built from scratch with no templates or guidance to light the way. It was the most frustrating and exhilarating experince watching it come together piece by piece, code by code. Since those innocent beginnings I've dived head first into a Bachelors of Internet Communication with a major in Web Design, I'm devouring tutorials, reading everything I can find to light my way and finding a community of the most creative nerds in the world. So this blog is my way of documenting my journey from wet behind the ears newbie to experienced professional, a place to consolidate and share what I'm learning, display my work and help others at the start of this journey find their way. View all posts by sarab2222

Leave a Reply

